Well ... how's my little voice? Okay, so it needs serious work! Right?

This topic is listed in Singing & Songwriting Tips. It has been viewed 429 times and 15 replies have been made.

music_junky7LEVEL 43

Post by music_junky7GOLD

Hello SingSnap,

Yes, I have finally done it! I have made a recording! But ... alas it has come up unsatisfactory, at least to me. I know the saying about how each of us is his or her own worst critic, which definitely applies to me; I can be pretty hard on myself, so don't be afraid to tell me I totally suck at singing. I can take it! I won't run away and cry.

I am a perfectionist, which I suppose can be good or bad. After two weeks and still coming up short, I finally said "Who cares?" I'm not a professional singer, but then after listening back, I had doubts. Ever since I was a little girl, I've constantly set the bar way too high for myself. I liked trying to sing songs that I considered to be hard for me. I guess I wanted to challenge myself. For some reason I always had expectations for myself that were beyond my level of vocal skill. So, that brings me to the crazy idea to make my first SingSnap recording a karaoke version of a classic Celine Dion song! What?!